Thursday, 22 January 2015

Rare Jazz Soul: The Nineteenth Whole - Smilin' (Eastbound Rec.,1972)

The Nineteenth Whole

( LP Eastbound Records, 1972 )
Catalog # EB 9003

R&B, Soul and Jazz ... rare album.

Tracklisting & Hide Credits:
A1 You Caught Me Smilin' Again
Written-By – Sylvester Stewart 7:00
A2 Slippin' Into Darkness
Written-By – M. Dickinson, C. Miller, H. Brown, H. Scott, L. Oskar, L. Jordan, S. Allen 9:40
B1 Monkey Hips 'N' Rice
Written-By – Wooten 6:55
B2 Lookin' Through The Windows
Written-By – Clifton Davis 6:15
B3 Dark Clouds Rising
Written-By – E. Riggins 5:05

Personnel & Credits:
Artwork By [Design] – Curry / Koller
Congas, Tambourine – Buddy Caldwell
Drums – "Mad" Harold Cardwell
Electric Bass [Fender] – Gordon Edwards
Engineer – Rudy Van Gelder
Guitar – Billy Johnson
Guitar [All Solos] – Cornell Dupree
Mastered By – Howard Craft
Organ, Vocals – Emmanuel Riggins
Photography [Liner Photo] – Al Johnson
Producer – Bob Porter
Vibraphone, Vocals – Billy Wooten

Produced for Eastbound Records, Inc.
Distributed by Janus Records, N.Y., N.Y.
1972 Eastbound Records, Inc.
Format:Vinyl, LP, Album

Barcode and Other Identifiers:
Matrix / Runout (A-side label): EB 9003 A
Matrix / Runout (B-side label): EB 9003 B
Matrix / Runout (A-side runout groove): EB-9003-A-1
Matrix / Runout (B-side runout groove): EB-9003-B-1


''Monkey Hips 'N' Rice''

Biography by Richie Unterberger (AMG):
Indianapolis soul-jazz trio Nineteenth Whole first played together as backup musicians for jazz guitar great Grant Green, forming their own group to record the 1972 Smilin' album on Eastbound Records. Vibist/singer Billy Wooten, organist/singer Emanuel Riggins, and drummer "Mad" Harold Cardwell were joined by a few sessionmen for the LP, including noted guitarist Cornell Dupree, who took all the guitar solos. The record was solid early-'70s soul-jazz in which the musicians sounded more comfortable with the soul idiom than many did on releases given a soul-jazz tag, offering five mostly instrumental, lengthy pieces with funky grooves and some sparkling organ-vibes-guitar interaction. The group also recorded a live album, featuring Wooten, under the name Wooden Glass.

Review by Richie Unterberger (AMG):
Soul-jazz, to be honest, was often a lot more jazz than soul, and often bland fusion the further the genre progressed into the 1970s. The Nineteenth Whole's only album, however, is a refreshing instance in which the styles were pretty much mixed with equal measure, and done well in a mostly instrumental format. The five extended five- to ten-minute soul numbers had grooves and licks that were easy on the ears, yet also unrolled with a natural and reasonably earthy funk swing. The trio that comprised the Nineteenth Whole (vibist/singer Billy Wooten, organist/singer Emanuel Riggins, and drummer "Mad" Harold Cardwell) got a lot of help from guest guitarist (and general ace session man) Cornell Dupree, who took all the solos, with guest guitarist Billy Johnson chipping in as well. It helps, too, that the group members had good taste in the material they selected to cover, including Sly Stone's "You Caught Me Smilin' Again," War's "Slippin' into Darkness," and the Jackson 5's "Lookin' Through the Windows." "Slippin' into Darkness" might be the highlight here, with its tight interplay between vibes, glowing organ, and burning, occasionally wah-wahed guitar, but those qualities are found throughout most of this easygoing yet dynamic record. It's recommended to those who want solid commercial early-'70s soul-jazz with integrity, and was reissued on CD in 2006 by Westbound/Ace, though the packaging is pretty low-profile, lacking any of the historical liner notes that Ace usually includes on its re-releases.


''Slippin' Into Darkness''

Album Description:
• A first-ever release on CD for the ultra-rare album from the Nineteenth Whole.
• The Nineteenth Whole were an Indianapolis trio that originally came to prominence backing Grant Green on his "Visions" album. We have previously featured tracks on "Back To Funk" (CDBGPD 096) and "Westbound Funk" (CDBGPD 155).
• Originally released as Eastbound EB 9003 in 1972, Ace / Westbound reissue it in a cardboard replica of the original LP.
• The trio consisted of Billy Wooten on vibes, Emmanuel Riggins on organ and "Mad" Harold Cardwell on drums. The band is augmented by Cornell Dupree on guitar.
From Amazon

On Line:


(Demo Short Clips - not downloadables)
These demo files are in a low bitrate only for promotion purpouse. If any owner of the copyright want to remove these demo files please send a mail to and the links will be immediately removed.
All contents provided: Copyright © 2012-2015 All rights reserved.
Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

No comments: