Wednesday, 11 September 2013

Jazz Funk & Psychedelic: Wade Marcus - A New Era

Wade Marcus
”A New Era”
( LP Cotillion Records, 1971 )
Catalog # SD 9043

A1 Thank You Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Agin (3:31)
Guitar [Solo] – Eric Gale
Written-By – Sylvester Stewart
A2 Magic Moments (3:12)
Written-By – Bobby Marcus
A3 Lush Life (4:01)
Violin [Solo] – Gene Orloff
Written-By – Billy Strayhorn
A4 Spinning Wheel (3:54)
Written-By – David Clayton Thomas
A5 Something (3:35)
Organ [Solo] – Richard Tee
Written-By – George Harrison
A6 Lost In A Pool Of Red (4:10)
Guitar [Solo] – Vincent Bell
Piano [Solo] – Paul Griffin
Written-By – Beatrice Verdi, Pamela Joan Sawyer
B1 Feelin’ Alright (3:24)
Piano [Solo] – Paul Griffin
Written-By – Dave Mason
B2 A New Era (5:32)
Written-By – Alice C. Marcus
B3 Make It With You (3:30)
Guitar [Solo] – Vincent Bell
Written-By – David Gates
B4 A Time For Us (4:35)
Harp [Solo] – Gene Bianco
Written-By – Eddie Snyder, Larry Kusik , Nino Rota
B5 This World (3:10)
Piano [Solo] – Paul Griffin
Written-By – Gary William Friedman , Herb Schapiro

Personnel & Credits:
Bass – George Duvivier (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B4), Jerry Jemmott (tracks: A1, A4 to B3, B5)
Cello – Alan Shulman, Anthony Sophos, Charles McCracken, George Ricci
Congas – John Rodriguez
Drums – Herbert Lovelle (tracks: A1, A4 to B3, B5), Jimmy Johnson (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B4)
Engineer [Re-mix] – Don Casale , Joe Messina
Engineer [Recording] – Don Casale, Gene Paul
Flute – Hubert Laws (tracks: A2, A4, B2)
Guitar – Eric Gale , Vincent Bell
Harp – Corky Hale, Gene Bianco
Keyboards – Paul Griffin , Richard Tee
Percussion – Gordon “Specs” Powell
Producer – Brad Shapiro, Dave Crawford
Viola – Alfred Brown, Emanuel Vardi , Harold Coletta, Selwart Clark
Violin – Carmel Malin, David Nadien, Emanuel Green, Gayle Dixon,
Gene Orloff, Henri Aubert, Joe Malin, Julien Barber, Peter Buonconsiglio,
Sanford Allen, Winston Collymore

Recorded at Atlantic Recording Studio, New York,
NY and Decca Recording Studio, New York, NY
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1971

Note: Vinyl rip by Smooth.

I just picked up A New Era on my trip out East. When I got it and saw the cover I realized that a copy had been sitting up on a wall of a local record store for several years. The moral of the story, pay better attention to those walls! The album is best known for a rousing instrumental version of Spinning Wheel with a drum break into and a great flute melody. But there’s more. Thank You Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Agin, Feelin Alright and This World are all good soul-jazz tunes. A New Era starts off very mellow with Hubert Laws leading the band with his flute into what might seem to be a very non-descript jazz song. Then, out of nowhere, there’s a drum break followed by congas as the song turns towards a cop show type theme. There’s a second drum and conga break towards the end.
By Motown67 (Soul Strut)

Don Casale’s (Engineer on this LP) note:
I remember engineering this album, and it is a fond memory. Great players all around, and Wade Marcus was one of the nicest and most talented artists in the music business. This is a real good album, and I’m glad to see people still enjoying it. Engineer Gene Paul’s work on this album is excellent, too. It’s an honor to share a credit with him.


''Spinning Wheel''

''Thank You Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Agin''

(Demo Short Clips - not downloadables)
These demo files are in a low bitrate only for promotion purpouse. If any owner of the copyright want to remove these demo files please send a mail to and the links will be immediately removed.
All contents provided: Copyright © 2013 All rights reserved.
Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

No comments: