Saturday, 13 April 2013

Info: Overdose Of The Holy Ghost Compiled by David Hill (Promo Mix by Joey Negro)

holyghost promo sleeve
Overdose Of The Holy Ghost compiled by David Hill - Promo Mix

Double CD available now from:
Gatefold Double LP to follow in early May...
Following on from the likes of “Backstreet Brit Funk”, “Destination Boogie” “GoGo Get Down”, the well-received and growing Under The Influence series and the ever-popular Soul of Disco albums, Z Records continue to release high quality compilations filled with lesser known disco, soul, funk and boogie. Now ZR returns with a long overdue Gospel album compiled by David Hill.
(Joey Negro)

A word from David Hill...
“Gospel music has often followed the prominent trends in secular music, probably in the hope of widening its audience by giving the subject matter a sprinkling of cool. In the 60s it happened with R&B and then funk-flavoured gospel, the 70s brought sweet-soul crossovers, and by 1975 the sounds of early disco had started to permeate the genre. This compilation brings together overlooked gospel gems that have their production rooted in disco and boogie, the sound of the early 80s that followed in disco’s wake. It’s only recently that this music has begun to be appreciated by fans outside of its original target market, and I’m glad to help it finally reach a wider audience.”
David began his music career in 1994 as a member of the Ballistic Brothers, together with Ashley Beedle and Rocky & Diesel of X-Press 2. In 1994 he co-founded the Nuphonic record label, where he managed the creative aspects on almost a hundred releases, with artists including Faze Action, Norman Jay, Andrew Weatherall, Maurice Fulton and David Mancuso. In addition to the record label, Nuphonic also produced the Sony award winning London Xpress radio show for Xfm, which led to various club nights.
David has also acted as a music consultant to several record companies, one of these being Soul Jazz records, who he produced a series of successful albums for - in 2004 the ‘World of Arthur Russell’ and more then the acclaimed ‘Soul Gospel’ series. He was also production consultant for Auralux, the London based reggae reissue record label, where he worked with Lee Perry, King Jammys, Sly & Robbie and Linval Thompson.
He continues to work on personal projects such as Rootikal, the monthly roots reggae Night, and has a number of reissue and compilation projects currently in production. He is also currently overseeing the production of a book and an accompanying touring exhibition that will showcase Bill Bernstein's photographs of New York nightlife in the late ’70s.
As always with Z Records, we've spent time and money to make the masters sound as good as possible so if you're a fan of compilations from BBE or Dimitri From Paris and our own Soul of Disco & Under The Influence CD’s then this new Gospel album will not disappoint.

01 The Clark Sisters - Overdose of The Holy Ghost
02 Shirley Caesar - Heavenly Father
03 Ricky Womack & Christian Essence - I Need You (Joey Negro Edit)
04 Dan Greer - Love Is The Message (Joey Negro Edit)
05 Kristle - I'll Go
06 D.J. Rogers - All I Gave Him Was My Heart
07 The Young Delegation - I'll Keep Holdin On
08 Linda Evans - I Am Gold
09 Elbernita 'Twinkie' Clark - Awake O Zion
10 Tommy T & Company - Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere
11 Truth & Devotion - I Must See My Lord
12 Norman Weeks & The Revelations - Hold On

01 The Clark Sisters - Everything's Gonna Be Alright (Joey Negro Edit)
02 Gloster Williams & Master Control - No Cross, No Crown
03 Roslyn & Charles - Was Not Intended (David Hill Edit)
04 The Dynamic Clark Sisters with Mattie Moss Clark - Ha Ya (Eternal Life)
05 The Young Delegation - He Lives
06 Sharon Johnson - A Better Day
07 BeBe & CeCe Winans - I Really Love You (David Hill Edit)
08 The Fannie Clark Singers - Use Me Lord
09 Shirley Caesar - Message To The People
10 Ronia La Vee - Lead Me
11 Rahni Harris & Family Love - He's My Friend
12 James Moore - As A Nation (David Hill Edit)

Released by: Z Records
Release/catalogue number: ZeddCD028
Release date: Apr 22, 2013

(Demo Short Clips - not downloadables)
These demo files are in a low bitrate only for promotion purpouse. If any owner of the copyright want to remove these demo files please send a mail to and the links will be immediately removed.
All contents provided: Copyright © 2013 All rights reserved.
Pictures copyright held by photographers. If you are the photographer of any picture and would like it removed please email us.

No comments: